Navratri Fasting Rules

Flours and Grains

· During Navratri fasts, consumption of regular grains like wheat and rice are not allowed, instead you can consume alternatives like (buckwheat flour) Kuttu ka Atta, water chestnut flour (Singhare ka Atta). And amaranth flour ( Rajgira ka Atta ). · In its place of rice, you can have Samvat Ke Chwaal (barnyard millet) which can be used to make khichdi, dhoklas or kheer. Also use Sabudana to make papads, kheer or vadas.

Fruits and Vegetables

· You can Eat all types of fruits on fasting days. · During Navratri fasting, Some people fast only with fruits and milk for all these nine days. · Most People consume vegetables like potatoes, sweet potato, Arbi, lemons, kachalu, tomatoes, bottle gourd, cucumber, carrots, suran or yam, raw or semi-ripe pumpkin, raw pumpkin, spinach etc

Herbs and Spices

· Use alternative rock salt or Sendha Namak in place of Normal Salt · You can also use spices like cumin powder, black pepper powder, green cardamom, cloves, cinnamon, ajwain, black peppercorns, dry pomegranate seeds, kokum, tamarind and nutmeg.

Dairy and Milk Products

During Navratri fasting, Following Milk products can be used: Curd, Buttermilk, Lassi, Paneer, White Butter, Ghee, Malai, and Preparations with milk and khoya are mostly consumed.

What food items to Avoid

1. Devotees who are keeping Navratri fasts should avoid foods prepared using onion or garlic. 2. Fast-foods, canned food, and aerated drinks. 3. Food like legumes, lentils, rice flour, cornflour, all purpose flour, whole wheat flour and semolina (rava). 4. Non-vegetarian food, eggs, alcohol, and smoking should also be avoided.