Skip to content

Goddess Brahmacharini Puja – Day 2 Of Shardiya Navratri

goddess brahmacharini
Reading Time: 2 minutes

Navratri is a nine-day celebration to enjoy the victory of Dharma over Adharma. This year it will be celebrated from the 7th of October to the 15th of October 2021. Nine forms of Goddess Durga will be worshipped each day. The first day of Navratri began with Ghatasthapana and devotees worshipped Goddess Shailputri. The second day of Navratri falls on the 8th of October and Goddess Brahmacharini will be worshipped.

Goddess Brahmacharini – Day 2 of Navratri

Goddess Brahmacharini is one of the nine forms of Goddess Durga. This form symbolizes the severe penance that was carried out by Goddess Parvati. Devi Brahmacharini is the unmarried form of Goddess Parvati and is worshipped on the second of Navratri. Goddess Brahmacharini is depicted with bare feet and wearing white garb. She carries a Japa Mala (rudraksha rosary) in her right hand and Kamandal (water utensil) in the other hand. 

Chaitra Navratri Day 2: Goddess Brahmacharini is worshipped - Information  News

The rudraksha mala represents the penance for Lord Shiva and the kamandal signifies that in the final years of her penance she only consumed water. The lotus attached to the Goddess’ body represents knowledge, and the white saree represents purity. She also carries a crown like the Goddess Durga. 

Goddess was born as Devi Parvati, the daughter of King Himavanth. She decided to do penance for winning Lord Shiva’s heart. The Tapasya that she did went on for hundreds and thousands of years, and that is why she is also known as Tapasyacharini. All these years, she survived on Bilva leaves but she didn’t eat even that during the last period of her penance. Impressed by her intense penance, Lord Brahma provided her with a blessing that led to her marrying Lord Shiva. 

Also Read – Chaitra Navratri Day 2 – Facts About Devi Brahmacharini & Her Temple

Goddess Brahmacharini governs Lord Mangal, who is the provider of all fortunes and represents the Swadhistana Chakra in spiritual practice. By worshipping Goddess Brahmacharini, virtues such as penance, renunciation (moksha), dispassion, and restraint improve. Thus, an individual’s whole ethical conduct gets better.

Also Read – Strange Navratri Rituals in India Which You Might Not Know

Puja Vidhi Of Goddess Brahmacharini

Goddess Brahmacharini is worshipped along with Lord Shiva. Flowers, sandalwood, and rice are offered to her in a Kalash. Devi is worshipped with milk, curd, and honey. Aarti is performed followed by chanting of mantras, and prasad is offered to her.

Also Read – Navratri Festival In India: A Festival Of Positivity


Devi Brahmacharini is worshipped on the second day of Navratri. She is known for her pure and honest devotion and determination. Goddess teaches us that by being devoted to what we want, we will achieve our goal one day. By worshipping her, the devotees will be able to reach their goals. 

For more information, visit Discover – Trending Reader

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Facts About Delhi Metro Places To Visit In Winters In India Unknown Facts About Dharmendra Realme 10 Pro 5G Series- Specifications and Price Tata Tigor EV List of Foods For Diabetics Hero Vida V1 Records of Virat Kohli Ola S1 Air Best Tablets For Students